what is this and where should I go from here?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mglicini

Reaction score
I have been brewing for almost 5 years now, and kegging for almost that entire time. I have never had anything that looked like an infection, and always felt my cleaning practices we solid. I brew all-grain and extract brews and I use a converted keg for my full gallon boils. irish red brew day was a pretty typical brew day for me with nothing dramatic happened to note that I would think could contribute to an Infection, to the best of my knowledge everything that touched post boil was clean and sanitized. except for the cleaned immersion chiller that I put into the boil kettle for the last 10 minutes of boil. The infection is in the primary fermenter. I meant to rack earlier, but went on vacation, and the attached pictures is the top of the beer after 2 weeks in primary. is this an infection because I feel if I have to ask then it must be? So, I have 5 major questions (with a bunch of little ones) I would love answered if possible.

1. Do you all believe as well that this is an infection?

2. When it comes to cleaning/replacing equipment post boil that could have contributed to the infection. If it is metal or glass can I jus bret clean as usual and use star san, should I use bleach, or is it recommended to replace all of it.

3. should I dump it to avoid having to replace the future equipment the beer would touch (siphon cane, and tubing), since the infection started in the primary fermenter, give it time to sour and have a sour Irish red (which sounds nice).