Want to get into All-Grain

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chavi

Reaction score
I have been brewing for 2 years now doing partial mash batches, but I want to start brewing using the all grain method. I have seen brewers on this site with amazing all grain systems that can recycle water and set temperatures. I would like to one day have a rig that can do all these things, but I have no electrical experience or know-how in this department. I have heard people having success doing BIAB, but I am not sure I want to do this. In my search, I found a system sold by northern brewer...

http://www.northernbrewer.com/brewing/review/product/list/id/1190/category/312/

Is this system efficient or worth the price tag? Would a system like this hold water temperature well? Should I forgo this type of system and start an elaborate system that requires propane? I just dont know where to begin. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Stop thinking so much and just start doing! Rather than plan out your brewing future from where you stand now, you'll likely be much better off making incremental improvements to your system, at least until you know what you want. There's really nothing stopping you from doing all grain now, assuming you have a 10gal kettle and can get your hands on a nylon bag. Brew-in-a-bag is a good place to start because it doesn't require much. Then, if you decide you want to go a different route, you'll have the experience to help you make these decisions yourself. There's no single answer to any of this.