Using Campden Tablets

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

petrolSpice

Reaction score
I've been brewing for a few years but have never used Campden tablets which are meant to remove chlorine from the water. Most of my brews have had an inexplicable "twang" off-flavor, it tastes plastic-y. I've been doing a little research on these tablets but there is a LOT of mixed information out there. Hopefully you experts can clear some things up.

1) Do Campden tablets treat BOTH chlorine and chroramine?
2) How do I know if my water contains chloramine? My city water report only lists chlorine at 0.81ppm. No mention of chloramine.
3) I brew 8 gallon batches with 10-11 gallons of strike water. Can I just use 1 whole tablet and call it a day?
4) Can these tablet cause headaches (from sulfites)?
5) Can I just add the tablet to the mash water?
6) Will these tablets mess up my other water chemistry calculations?
7) Do they effect mash pH?

Thanks!

EDIT: Ward Labs did test my water but it did not say anything about chlorine or chloramine. I got their home brew test which I guess doesn't include these.

I've been brewing for a few years but have never used Campden tablets which are meant to remove chlorine from the water. Most of my brews have had an inexplicable "twang" off-flavor, it tastes plastic-y. I've been doing a little research on these tablets but there is a LOT of mixed information out there. Hopefully you experts can clear some things up.

2) How do I know if my water contains chloramine? My city water report only lists chlorine at 0.81ppm. No mention of chloramine.
3) I brew 8 gallon batches with 10-11 gallons of strike water. Can I just use 1 whole tablet and call it a day?

Thanks!