two vessel RIMs??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

drinkdrankpunk

Reaction score
Ok so I'm still pretty new to brewing. I built a pretty nice three tier and brewed a few all grain batches on that but I moved to Germany and now I live in a little tiny apartment so I sold all of my brewing stuff except enough to brew 1 gallon batches in the kitchen. that's cool and all but it is just not enough for me. I have a small storage room in the basement so I can keep everything down there but I would need to be able to bring it all up stairs and outside to brew. I think I want to try to brew with a RIMS and thinking I could get by with two kettles, one pump and one burner. Not exactly sure how to make it all work any advice would be helpful. Also I have no clue how to build the set up I have been looking on Google but if someone has a good place to look for some plans that would be great too.

So I have/will have a similar setup except I use keggles as my kettles (so my capacity is 10gal) but until recently I only brewed 2.5gal batches. The 2.5gal size will probably be perfect for you. You should have three vessels. I use my wort kettle (WK) as a hot liquor tank (HLT) and then I have a separate tank for my mash tun (MT). the way it works is that you heat the liquor in the HLT then mash in to the MT. before you mash out and sparge, heat the sparge water up in the HLT and when its a couple degrees past what you want you pump it into an insulated cooler, put the lid on the cooler and set aside. Then you drain your MT into your HLT/WK and sparge with the cooler which has become your HLT in a way. That is how I do it. I am working on a RIMS system currently for mash stability but you really don't need it to get started as you know.