Two corny keg questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lacticacid

Reaction score
I am new to kegging my beer and have two issues.

The first one is that nothing but a trickle is coming out of one keg. I sanitized it and was able to transfer the star San out of it and into another keg through the faucet fine. Transferred beer into the keg and presurized it and now nothing comes out. The keg is pressurized and beer flows from another keg on the same manifold. I think I may have transferred some dry hops into the keg as there are some particulates in the line. If I let it sit will they drop out? Any other ideas?

The second issue is that the keg I transferred the sanitizer into when I pressurized it had a slight leak through the top of the beverage out. Does this just need a new poppet?

For the first issue, take the keg apart in a "clean" manner, and check for any clogs. Sanitize everything and reassemble. Then check the manifold for problems.

For the second issue, I would change the seals first as they are cheaper and should stop any leaks. If not, then change entire post.

Yes if it is leaking out of the center of the post, your poppet is the problem many have found that keg lube can take care of this. I would replace it poppets are not that costly compared to the loss of 5 gallons of beer and the loss of co2. Do yourself a favor and get at least one full set of replacement 0-rings and poppets for emergencies..............my.02

I am new to kegging my beer and have two issues.