Strawberry wine (BOMM method)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Seamonkey84

Reaction score
since I’m just starting out and kinda enthusiastic... I just pitched my third batch within a week. This is my 5th batch since I started brewing a month ago.
As the title says, I’m doing a strawberry wine, but using the staggered protocol laid out in “Brays one month mead”. Only difference is the sugar source. Let’s see how this goes.
So two days ago, I found a great deal on “fresh” organic strawberries, only a dollar a pound! Basically about to be over ripened, so I ended up buying 8 pounds. I cleaned and chopped up 7lbs, and dumped into a strainer bag. I then covered with enough water to do a Campden tablet soak. I also added peptic enzyme to complete the “wine making liquor”. I realized that just covering the fruit would fill the bucket to the one gallon line, so to account for adding sugar solution and yeast starter (and volume loss after removing fruit pulp), I’m aiming for a 1.5 gallon batch.
This morning the bucket looked and smelled like a strawberry daiquiri. I added a solution with 2lbs of sugar, rounded 1/4tsp of potassium bicarbonate, 1/2tsp Fermaid K, and 1/2tsp Fermaid O. Then add some Wyeast 1388 from a starter culture I’ve been maintaining.
Now 12 hours later, the mix still smells wonderful and looks completely different! The particulates clumped together and floated up, leaving the rest a beautiful clear red.
0E1DA61F-CF09-41A7-A3E9-7D00A5390966.jpeg

3F6AC522-1CFD-4F86-8F08-1EDC1032ED9B.jpeg