Storing unpitched wort

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

deuce40

Reaction score
How long can I store about 4.5 gallons of wort without pitching any yeast into it. I brewed today and was planning on pitching some washed yeast that was in the fridge for about two weeks I normally make a starter before but I didn't plan ahead and decided to go ahead and pitch the washed yeast straight into the wort. I split the entire yeast cake into only two containers and figured it would be ok because of the amount of the yeast present in the containers and the short amount of time it was in the fridge. So I started brewing then a couple hours later I look at the container and theres a nasty looking bubbly growth on the outside of the container. I obviously had a contamination so I dumped the yeast. Since I already stated brewing ( it was 10pm at this time). I was not able to get a new vile of yeast and will not be able to till Monday morning. I finished brewing then placed the wort into my carboy after cooling with an air lock on it. So my question is how long could I possibly store the wort before I should be worried about contamination?

Do a search for "No chill" brewing, the Aussies do a lot of it for water conservation and there should be some good info on how long they let their wort sit. Seal it up, get it as cold as you can, and if you have CO2 put a blanket of that in the fermentor.

Your major concern is nasty bacteria which would happily infect your wort. They like warm conditions with higher pH, so as said your best bet is to seal it an cool it, CO2 will also help.