Special B malt

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Craig5_12

Reaction score
Per Northern Brewer... "Special B (147° L) is an extremely dark caramel malt, which combines characteristics of dark caramel and light roasted malt. It has a sharp, almost toffee like flavor. In small proportions, it can contribute a ruby red color. Don't exceed 1/4 pound per five-gallon batch."

Everything sounds great except for the the "don't exceed 1/4 lbs..." part. I've never used this before and wanted everyones take on it. This will be going in an amber ale I'm brewing on Saturday.

My advise in this case would be, uh, "Don't exceed 1/4 pound per five-gallon batch."

The normal use for Special B is in Begian dubbels and strong dark ales. But I've used in in APAs and amber type ales before--just 1-3 ounces. I like the complexity it adds to those beers. I think their description is pretty accurate.

Used it in a Brown Ale, and it made a difference for sure. I also eceeded more then 1/4lb and used half, and the flavor of this brown is awesome. I like the grain and would definatley use it again.

I consider it along the lines of Chocolate malt and roasted barley, not as in the flavor but the amount generally used in 5 gal. It brings alot in a little bit. Amber will be a great home for Special B.

Yeah that stuff is great imo! Like suggested though, use sparingly. If used more than 5% and it is going to really give you dominant caramel. If the rest of the grain bill has intense flavors though, it would be ok. From the horse's mouth:

"Special B (140° - 155° L)