Sparge Arm

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

armymedic942

Reaction score
Hello eyeryone,

I am in the process of building a 3 vessel Electric HERMS setup. I have a question regarding Sparge Arms, as this is the last component that I have yet to settle on a design for.

I have considered the Blichmann auto sparge, or a simple copper loop with holes drilled into it. (FYI my Mash/Lauter tun is a converted Sanke Keg)

I have also thought about using a shower head or rotating lawn sprinkler (one of those small 3 armed triangular ones)

I would really appreciate some advice on what is best, since I am new to All-grain

PS does anyone use their sparge arm during the wort recirculation?

Cheers

I just lay a loop of silicone hose across the top of the grain bed. I will soon be adding the blichman auto sparge to my setup.

Thanks Peter,

I ended up picking up one of these to start off

http://www.midwestsupplies.com/stainless-economy-sparge-arm.html

about 2 weeks away from my first all-grain brew

wish me luck!

Cheers:mug:

The one thing I don't like about that sparge arm is that they use the same sprayer that is used for aeration while filling your fermenter. It's fine if you want to aerate your cooled wort but you really don't want to aerate your pre-boiled wort.

Keep it close to the grain bed and you should be fine.

armymedic942 said:
Thanks Peter,

I ended up picking up one of these to start off

http://www.midwestsupplies.com/stainless-economy-sparge-arm.html

about 2 weeks away from my first all-grain brew

wish me luck!

Cheers:mug: