Russian Imperial Stout Water Chemistry

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fordzilla

Reaction score
Hello,

This is my second venture with adjusting my water profile to obtain proper mash pH and flavor profile. I was hoping some of you guys with more info could look this over and let me know if I'm on the right track.

I am planning to steep the Roasted Barley and Chocolate Malt in the boil kettle, to avoid them throwing off my mash pH. I've never done this before, since I've never calculated my pH before. I believe that is pretty common practice for this reason, right?

Thanks!

Vs1iO2z.jpg

xuJKNm3.jpg

vJY3usZ.jpg

If you proceed in this way the mash pH will be about the same as the base malt pH. IOW if you use a base malt with DI pH of 5.6 your mash pH will be about 5.6 and if, conversely, you use a base malt with DI pH of 5.8 your mash pH will be about 5.8. Probably higher than you want in either case but 5.6 might be OK.

Thus you will need some, at least, of the acids from the roast grains. How much depends on the particular roast grains (their DI mash pH's and buffering capacities) and on the bsae malt.

Dark beers are tough because whether you need acid or not depends on the grains so much and they are quite variable. Doubtless the best way to handle them is with test mashes in which a small amount (a pound or so) of the blended grist is mashed with warm liquor and the pH checked. Dark grain amounts can be adjusted for correct pH or, if it is desired to have a fixed amount of dark grain for flavor or color, bases or acids added as necessary for correct mash pH.

Sorry AJ but I'm a little unclear on the pH. With the adjustments in the pictures above (8.43 mL lactic acid and 5g gypsum), the calculator I used came out to 5.3 pH. Is that incorrect?