Rehydrating yeast

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewfan86

Reaction score
So I know a lot of brewers don't do this and still have successful batches but I am choosing to rehydrate my dry yeast the next batch I make... So tht being said I've seen different instructions for this I have John palmers how to brew and read his way and have seen other ways as well online at home brewers.com on you tube and a video frm northern brewer basically I'm wondering if it makes tht much of a differance or if im good following any one of these sources ? I like to keep it simple since I'm a noob and no used to a lot of things tht come with brewing.. I'd appreciate any help

I've been following the directions on the yeast packet. I feel like the people who "made" the yeast should probably know how to use it best.

Doctor_Wily said:
I've been following the directions on the yeast packet. I feel like the people who "made" the yeast should probably know how to use it best.

Thanx, I've seen some say to follow directions on the packet but my last kit had no directions on the yeast packet. If it does next time ill definitely refer to tht

Boil some water for a few minutes to sanitize it- a cup is more than enough but I find it hard to boil a cup for a few minutes without too much boiling off. Let it cool to ~105F (+/- 5F) and add your yeast. Do not add any sugar or nutrients to the water- tap water is fine and do not use RO or distilled water. Let it sit for a few minutes- the yeast may foam or not. Usually it drops to the bottom and upon swirling looks creamy. Then you're ready to pitch.