Refractometer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ProfessorWoland

Reaction score
I was given a refractometer on my birthday yesterday and have been measuring the Brix of nearly every liquid I can find (my cup of tea this morning was just under 2%.)

Anyone know a good idiot's to using one?

I live in Russia. I'm contractually obligated to get all Russian literature references.

Have fun with that refractometer. It's on my wish list!

I've been using one for several years now. My advice: calibrate it every day you use it. And my tap water gives me the exact same reading as distilled water so that's what I use.

My refractometer was all over the place during my last brew. I knew my brew would be very high in OG so when I read 1056 I knew that was wrong. Then I tested again and it read 1086, much better. I tested one more time before pitching yeast and it read 1035. I calibrated before use and I was getting 3 different readings with 3 different samples. Not sure if these are aways 100% accurate. I ended up just using my hydrometer to get an OG before pitching yeast. The hydro read 1086 so I tested with my refractometer again and it said 1086. Not sure what was going on with my refractometer. This was only the second time I've used it so it's still a brand new piece of equipment.