Record keeping, batch numbering

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StoneArcher

Reaction score
I am not sure if anyone else makes batch numbering or not, but if you do or if you would; How would you do it?

I mean for us home-brew folks. I am a software engineer by day, so if I am overanalyzing I apologize.

Here is a thought:

[batch number][ID][day][month][year][days 'till bottled]

Batch number will be the actual number of batches I have ever done. Thus ensuring a unique identifier. Four digits. Probably more digits than I need, but if my kids want to continue to use my batch numbering system (and I hope they will) it will handle it.

ID will be the id of the product. I don't anticipate getting too technical with the types of brew-ables. The actual label should be sufficient. Come to think of it, maybe type ID is a bit much.

Other: 0
Mead: 1
Wine: 2
Beer: 3
Cyder: 4

day, month, year will be when yeast was pitched or said product was started. each two digits. Month and year could each be truncated to one digit, using letters or alpha numerics.

Days until bottled will be the count in days from the start date until it was bottled.

So my very first batch of JAOM will have a batch id of: 0001 1 110413 0099

The point is, then if I keep a digital record, it's super easy lookup. If I am doing a paper and pencil record keeping it's easy to decrypt. And so far in my notes on paper, I can write things like "started on Nottingham yeast cake from #6."

I do hope to transfer it all to a custom built software solution, web based. But once I get a hang of it I will then build the system.

Thoughts?