Recipe Formulation: Chocolate Rye Stout

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

adomka

Reaction score
I want to make a chocolaty stout that I hope to eventually add some chilis to to try and make a Mexican "Hot" chocolate like stout (though I plan on brewing it first without). This is my first attempt. I thought the slight spicy rye character would play well with the chocolate taste I'm looking for.

Any opinions or recommendations, Thanks. Should I add or sub some #L of Caramel Malt

6 lbs 4.0 oz Munich Malt (9.0 SRM) |53.1 %
2 lbs Chocolate Rye Malt (250.0 SRM) |17.0 %
1 lbs Rye Malt (4.7 SRM) |8.5 %
8.0 oz Barley, Flaked (1.7 SRM) |4.3 %
8.0 oz Oats, Flaked (1.0 SRM) |4.3 %
8.0 oz Roasted Barley (300.0 SRM) |4.3 %
1 lbs Lactose [Boil for 15 min] |8.6 %

0.33 oz Warrior [15.00 %] - Boil 60.0 min |17.0 IBUs
1.00 oz Willamette [5.50 %] - Boil 20.0 min |11.4 IBUs

1.0 pkg SafAle English Ale (DCL/Fermentis #S-04)

Do I need to add some crystal Malt will it end up being too sweet?

My suggestions are:

Too much chocolate rye, I wouldn't include more than 12%. Add another roast malt, say roast barley.

Drop the lactose, Imo it won't work well with the rye.

Use 0.5lb of flaked rye, instead of flaked barley.

I would definitely include crystal malt. I would go 5% 80 and 2% special b.

Queequeg is spot on

I would drop the lactose also as lactose and Rye are not friends and scale back the chocolate Rye

If you're looking for a Mexican "hot" chocolate stout (by hot i'm assuming you mean temperature and not spicy) the biggest problem I see with your recipe is that it has no actual chocolate included, like chocolate nibs