Quick question...I have 25' of 3/8" and 25' of 1/2" copper...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

natewv

Reaction score
I've been using the 3/8" length as an IC with average results since I started brewing 2 years ago. I perceive that the slow chililng time is due to 1) not cold enough water and 2) not enough surface area as weel as probably 3) not enough wort movement.

I can get 25' of 1/2" from a buddy for cheap and my first thought was use what I have as a pre-chiller and use the new coil as the WC. That would take care of 1) and possibly 2) but would I be able to effectively/efficiently fill and move water through the wider diameter WC given the head/pressure drop created by running through 25' of a smaller diameter pre-chiller?

Would I actually want to do the exact opposite? Keep my IC and use the wider diameter pipe as a pre-chiller?

I ran the calculations on surface area for a 1/2 inch versus 3/8 inch diameter IC. If I recall correctly, I think that the 1/2 inch diameter results in 25% more surface area than the 3/8 inch. I think that this is pretty significant.

Secondly, many people recommend that you keep the wort moving as you chill. There are different ways to do this. One is to stir the wort as it is being chilled. Others move the wort chiller around to keep the wort moving. Others who have a pump install an arm to their chiller and draw wort from the kettle and pump it back to the recirculation arm to keep the wort moving. The last one is what I do and it works great.