Questions about winemaking from an experienced homebrewer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tooldudetool

Reaction score
So I've been homebrewing beer almost every week for several years, brewing all-grain for the last 6 months or so. I just inherited several 5 gallon carboys and a couple 8 gallon bucket fermenters, so I would love to try making my first batch of wine. I've ordered my first kit, a World Vineyards California Pinot Noir, and bought all of the other additives, corks, corker, etc that I will need. I've read the kit instructions, and the Jack Keller website (not all of it, but the basic info sections), but I still have some questions about whether some of my brewing processes will translate over. My specific questions are as follows:

- I see that Metabisulphate is used for sanitizing, but I've never used it before. I'm a big fan of Starsan for my brewing, is there any reason I can't use it? Is there some advantage to the Metabisulphate that Starsan doesn't have?

- Is fermentation temperature control as critical with winemaking as it is with beer making? I use a temperature controlled chiller setup for brewing, should I use this for winemaking as well? The kit just gives a general 65-75 degree range for fermentation. Is there a sweet spot in that range? Does wine yeast throw esters at higher temps the same way ale yeast does, or is this not a concern?

- Should I rehydrate the dry wine yeast the way I do with my dry ale yeast? According to Jamil, about half of the yeast population is lost by simply sprinkling yeast on top of the wort (or must?) rather than properly rehydrating it. Are proper yeast pitching rates critical with winemaking like they are with beer brewing?