Question to my Cofee expert buddies

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Metalhead_brewer

Reaction score
HI guys i recently did a batch of coffee stout basically was a base stout recipe, and added just before kegging 4 liquid oz of coldbrew in a ratio of 1 oz of comercial canned coffee per 1oz of water and let it sit overnight in fridge, to my taste it needed a whole lot more of coffee smell and taste, i'm planing to brew it again as it was a very tasty one, i love coffee but i'm not an expert in coffee types and its characteristics so i'm asking you to please help me a bit in this one, i want a coffee type with strong flavor and aroma that i can use for my next batch, i don't care if i have to buy green and roast and grind myself, what would you recomend? i'll really appreciate it. :D

I am no coffer expert however when I use coffee beans in my beer I use whole beans in the secondary phase of fermentation. 4 oz of coffee beans will give some coffee flavor how much comes through will depend on the grains as well, in a cream ale that's enough in a stout its a little light for my liking.

Coffee beans ( you need to crack them before adding ) in the fermenter work best. I did a 8% Imperial Brown Ale to which I added 3.5 oz coffee beans, some cacao beans and vanilla, and the coffee dominated. This was a 6 gallon batch and after 1 month it was really good. And don't do secondary, there's no need and you only risk introducing too much oxygen by transferring the beer too much.