Putting 13/16" Holes in My Kettles - What's the Best Option?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

drgonzo2k2

Really Awesome User
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
So for Christmas I got two very nice 16 gallon kettles, and now I'd like to ruin them by putting a 13/16" hole in each :rockin:

I will be using hand tools to do this, and looking at my options, I think I've narrowed it down to three:

1 - a 13/16" hole punch like https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002NQWZWU/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20

2 - a 13/16" hole cutter like this one

3 - a step bit like this one

Obviously they all have their pros and cons, and using a good center hole punch and getting a large enough pilot hole drilled is key; however, as this is my first time drilling into stainless, I'm looking for some opinions on which way other folks would go.

Last edited by a moderator:
Stainless is tough to drill. I've used a step bit, and had good results. It's cheap, but it takes a while.

I've always heard that a hole punch is the way to go, but I've never used one. Kinda pricey too.

I just used a step bit to poke a hole in an Anvil kettle and it worked just fine. Had to ding it with a punch and drill a small hole first, but no issues from there.

I found a local restaurant supply company. They did it with a hole punch for -$25. This kind of equipment modification is what they do all the time.

So for Christmas I got two very nice 16 gallon kettles, and now I'd like to ruin them by putting a 13/16" hole in each :rockin:

I will be using hand tools to do this, and looking at my options, I think I've narrowed it down to three:

1 - a 13/16" hole punch like https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002NQWZWU/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20