Planning my first BIAB this weekend

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dkevinb

Reaction score
I just bought the bag, some grain, hops and yeast at lunch. I've been doing extract plus steeping grains for about a year now, figured it was time to give this a try. I've been doing full-boil 5 gallon batches in an 8 gallon kettle on a turkey fryer. Since this is my first attempt I'm trying to keep things as simple as possible. Just to make sure volume/weight are not an issue at all I'm going to do a 3 gallon batch of a very simple Cascade APA I've had good luck with in the past. I upped the grain a bit since I have no idea what my efficiency will be:

6 lbs. 2-row
1/2 lb. Crystal 60
All Cascade hops

Hard to get too much simpler than that. I almost made it a SMASH, but I like the Crystal.

Anyway, I've been reading this forum for a while and I think I have a plan. Thanks for all the info. Wish me luck.

One Tip, be sure to have some gloves for handling the bag even if you have a pulley system. I use these: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0007ZGURK/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20

Good Luck!

!!!!!gloves.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Good luck - sounds like a tasty simple pale ale to me. Gravity will come it 1.50ish I bet.

Did you get a chance to double-crush it? that helps a bit on the efficiency.

Just add on about 2-3 extra hours if you have not done so yet. It will help prevent rushing your precess.

LabRatBrewer - Good tip. Home Depot on my way home says they have those in stock.
EJay - Calculator says 1.060 with 75% efficiency. I'll settle for anything above 1.040. No double crush, yet. I want to get a baseline, first.
fuzzy2133 - I usually take about 3.5 hours for extract plus steeping. I know it'll be longer than that. Hopefully not 3 hours longer.:)