Pale Ale Critique, Please

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Medic218

Reaction score
I got this idea somewhere and now I can't seem to find the source.
I want to know what you think since I made some minor adjustments to it.
I'm just getting started and only have 3 batches under my belt(one solo) so any guidance would be appreciated.

Recipe Type: Extract
Yeast: Wyeast 1056
Batch Size: 5 gal
Boil Size: 5.5 gal
Original Gravity: 1.056
Final Gravity: 1.014
IBU: 55.12
Boiling Time (Minutes): 60
Color: 8.0
Primary Fermentation: 7-14
Secondary Fermentation: 7-14
Bottle Condition: 14-21

Fermentables:
6.50lb Pale LME
1.25lb Vienna
0.75lb Carapils
0.50lb Sucrose

Hops:

.75oz Citra - 60min
.75oz Citra - 15min
.75oz Citra - 5min
.75oz Citra - 0min
2.00oz Citra - Dry hop 10 days

This looks pretty good to me. The only things I'd suggest are:

-Get rid of either the carafoam or the carapils (they are the same thing, simply trademarked under different names by Weyermann and Briess, respectively). You'll be fine with .75 lbs of one or the other.

-Consider adding another ounce to your dry hop. One is going to be okay, but I often dry hop my PAs with 2-3 ounces.

Edited.

Upped the dry hop to 2oz, dropped the carafoam and upped the carapils from .75lb to 1.00lb

Malt extracts are generally mashed in the medium-body temperature range to keep some dextrins around, and most times contain some crystal and carapils already - especially the US malt extracts. I would consider 1/2 lb of carapils to be plenty in an extract recipe - you won't have any problem with body and/or head retention.