Noob trying to decipher a recipe I was given

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikerunsmountains

Reaction score
I got the recipes for a couple of my favorite beers from a small brewery in a town I went to college in. The problem is that I'm still pretty new to brewing and am still brewing extract kits. I know what the ingredients are that are in the recipe, but I have no idea how to figure out how much I need of each. Everything he sent me is in percentages. Here is the email with the recipes I received:

IPA - O.G. is 1.060, IBU is 75, % ABV is 6.5
Briess Pale Ale malt is base malt so 100% fermentables come from here
Briess 2 row Caramel 60L 5% of total grist
Briess 2 row Carapils 5% of total grist
90 minute boil
Centennial Hops: 60% at 90 minutes, 10 % at 40 minutes and 10% at 30 minutes
Amarillo Hops 20% at 10 minutes
Cascade Hops are aroma hops added at end of boil
After active fermentation is done I dry hop with Cascades
I have my own yeast strain, but Pacific Northwest Ale yeast would work well for this and the porter.

Porter – O.G. is 1.060, IBU is 42, %ABV is 6.0
Briess Pale Ale is base malt at 88% of fermentables
Briess Munich 10 L is 12% of fermentables
Briess 2 row Chocolate Malt is 10% of total grist
Briess 2 row Carapils is 5% of total grist
Briess Blackprinz Malt is 3% of total grist
Briess Extra Special is 2 % of total grist
90 minute boil
German Perle Hops 90% added at 90 minutes
Willamette hops 10% added at 10 minutes
Willamette hops added as aroma hops at end of boil.