NOOB Questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DesertDog

Reaction score
I am new to making mead. I have two 1 gallon batches close to being ready to bottle and I have some questions/concerns before bottling. Any help and insights are welcome.

Batch 1:
This is a traditional mead made with wildflower honey from my hive. It fermented out in 11 days and I racked it to a 1 gallon carboy 26 days ago. It finished at 1.001 FG, 12.47% ABV. I think it close to being ready to bottle but it's still not very clear. It could also probably use some sweetening or something to improve the taste. The honey taste is strong but it's not at all sweet.

Questions: What should I start with to help clarify this? What is best for improving the flavor?

Batch 2:
This is a Cherry Melomel made with Costco Honey. They had a good price on 3 lb local raw honey and I had sold all of mine. I put 48 oz of cherry puree in the primary fermentation. This fermented out in less than 18 days and I racked it to a 1 gallon carboy today. It finished at 1.000 FG, 12.87% ABV. It tastes pretty good for the point it is at but also a bit dry. I sweetened a small sample with a bit of table sugar and it was quite good. This is already extremely clear and probably ok to bottle as well.

Question: What is the best way to sweeten this before bottling. Would a sweet cherry juice be a good idea?

Bonus question:
If I stop the fermentation with something such as potassium sorbate before sweetening can I still bottle carbonate some?

Thanks in advance for any help