Newbie looking to break more into wine-making - requesting kits to avoid, and tips!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

msarro

Reaction score
Hey everyone!
So, I have been making beer, meads and ciders for a few years now - close to 10. However, I had some personal revelations recently, and want to learn a lot more about traditional wine-making (from grapes).

I figured the easiest way to kick things off is the same way I got started brewing beer - buy a kit and make some homebrew!

But, unlike beer kits where it is generic ingredients that the LHBS assembles into kits, nearly all of the kits for wine are name-brand (companies like Grand Cru, etc). Are there any kits to avoid?

The other option is juice from our local vineyards, but the prices are pretty steep, especially since I have no knowledge about blending.

I'll admit I've done 2 kit manufactures. Island Mist (think wine coolers, these tend to be about 7%ABV and sweet, although grape, not apple based) and Special Reserve which was an ice wine. I've done a lot of skeeter pee (lemon wine) and 2 wine from fruit (1 peaches, came out dry and one cranberry came out tart).

Where you might want to look for reviews of the kits is winemaker magazine (it is a sister to BYO magazine, and there is a link back and forth from the byo.com or winmaker.com to the other) One review I saw there said that very good wines can be made from the kits, and the difference between kits is usually how much juice they put in v how much water you add. There is however good wine to be made from either kit - or so they said.