New guy from MN

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DougK

Reaction score
Hello all,

Total newbie here. I have yet to brew anything yet, though that should be changing here real soon. I ordered this starter kit: http://www.midwestsupplies.com/brewers-starter-kit-bundle.html through Groupon (Still active: http://www.groupon.com/deals/midwest-hydroponic-and-homebrewing-supplies-llc). The store is close enough that I'm planning to just go to the store this weekend to pick it up, rather than have it shipped.

A little about myself: I am a software engineer from the Twin-Cities metro area. My job has me travelling all around the globe. To date, I have been to Singapore, Ireland (Even had time to Tour St Jame's Gate while I was there!), Germany (During Oktoberfest even), Ethiopia (Surprisingly, they have decent beer), and Saudi Arabia (Their beer sucks!).

I can't really say I have a favorite beer, or even a favorite type. Ever since travelling to Germany, I have found I really don't care for any of the "commercial" American beers. Leininkuegal's Honey Weiss is one of my go-to beers when I go out to a bar with a limited selection.

I've been scouring the web looking for information and whatnot in regards to brewing, just soaking up everything I can find. I'm in the process of reading John Palmer's book and have been looking at just about everything I can find of interest on YouTube. I've been surprised by the width and breadth of all of the different types of brewing methods and equipment.

That's enough for now, I'm sure I'll be coming up with questions as I really get into it.

Cheers!