New ferment process on big IPA - did I do ok?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

flatfour64

Reaction score
I am getting ready to bottle this one this weekend, so I will know more about how it tastes and looks very soon. Just wanted to know what you all think about my latest process. This is my first time dry hopping in primary and cold-crashing. I used to do the secondary thing, but trying to get away from that to reduce oxidation.

Beer - 1.080 OG, Red IIPA, 124 IBUs (beersmith), 3 oz dry hop (columbus, simcoe, amarillo) :ban:

Made a 6 liter starter with a 90% viability smack pack of 1272 (mr malty)

Pitched at 67, fermented at 67 in +/- 1 degree controlled freezer. Krausen at 6 hrs, was into blow-off tube within 24 hrs. Glugged out of tube for 8 days.

Left on cake in primary for 4 weeks. At start of week 5, upped temp to 71 degrees and dry hopped in primary for 6 days. On day 7 of dry hop(yesterday) set temp to 33 degrees to crash hops and yeast to bottom.

I plan to bottle this monster on Saturday!

I have a few observations, questions:

1. Dry hops (2 oz pellet and 1 oz leaf) still have not dropped to bottom, mostly floating on top still, though they all appear to be wet. Should they have dropped to bottom?

2. The blow-off tube water jug froze solid, will this let air into the tube?

3. Does this seem like I did good? The only reason I upped the temp for the dry hop is because Vinny at RR says the optimum temp for dry hopping is lower 70s, and I love his beers.