Negative effects of using double the recommended amount of Campden?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Juno_Malone

Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm a newbie when it comes to cider, and I've got a quick question. I got my hands on 3 gallons of frozen, fresh pressed cider the other day (currently thawing in my garage). The issue is, it came in six half-gallon containers. I have some campden tablets, but I don't see any good way to split them in to equal halves. So my options seem to be:

1. Put a full crushed campden tablet in to each half gallon container. This would be twice the recommended amount; what are the downsides to that?
  2. Putting all six containers in to a sanitized 3-gallon glass carboy, and then adding three crushed campden tablets. But do I need to worry about the cider that splashed around the rim, and isn't submerged, not getting sanitized and possibly infecting my batch once I pitch yeast?

Thanks for any advice y'all can provide!

I'm no cider guy but i think either would be acceptable. A lil extra campden wont ruin your cider and a lil headspace in a primary fermentor is also not a problem.
you cant split them in half with a credit card? do yo have a gram scale?

Even 1 tab per gallon seems a bit much. I've read, and use 1 tab per 5G.
Also, the cider's frozen. Campden may not be necessary.
Finally, are you going to ferment them in the 1/2G containers? Probably not a great idea because of lack of head space. If, as I believe, you are using the 3G carboy for fermentation, just go ahead and dump it all in there and add your campden.
After 24 hours (or 48 hours if you add pectinase at 24), add your yeast. It'll take off and overwhelm any wild yeast/bugs that might still be hanging around.