Need some future-proofing advice on running electricity to my garage

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hezagenius

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm having an electrician run a line to my garage for brewing purposes. My original plan was to have a 20A line to run an induction burner (Avantco 3500W). I believe the plug on the burner is 6-20P.

Now I'm thinking maybe I want to have some sort of future-proofing in case I decide to do something that needs more power. My house has 200A service. I'm not an electrician so my knowledge on this subject is fairly limited.

Am I able to run a higher amp line to my garage and still be able to use it for the induction burner?
Is there some amp number that I should ask the electrician to run to future-proof me for whatever I may choose to do in the future?
Does a 30A (or higher) line have a different socket than a 20A line? Or is the 6-20P plug standard for all higher amp devices?
If a 30A (or higher) line has a different socket, does an adapter exist to convert it to a 6-20P socket?

Ask the electrician to put a 100 amp sub-panel in your garage. The wire to go from your main panel to the sub-panel will be pricey, but not as pricey as doing it twice. You can then run circuits at whatever amperage you want to where-ever you need - welder, table saw, electric car charger, brewery, etc.

Others will give you more details, but plugs and receptacles are generally standardized at specific ampacities. Within reason you can go lower, i.e., a 30-amp draw on a 50-amp circuit, but not vice-versa.

Last edited:
No. If you look at your panel, it is very likely the breakers add up to much more than the main breaker.