Need advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

2BeerSpeer

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
This is my first year cutting rhizomes from my crowns. They are 3 years old and I'm wondering when is the best time to do it and if there mat be any secrets to making it easier on me. I don't want to screw it up. ..thanks in advance for any info!

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Home Brew mobile app

Make sure the ground is defrosted first. Dig up the largest lateral roots an cut 5-6 in segments from the rhizomes. I treat the cut ends with rootone or similar products. If you plant them right away great, if not store them in the fridge in a ziplock with moist not wet material. You should be fine hard to screw it up.

Halifax is right, you can't screw it up no matter how hard you try. Getting out as soon as you can will help as you want to cut them before the buds begin to push out. Basically you can just dig all the way around the crown, like you're digging a moat. As you go along, you'll see the rhizomes creeping outward from the crown like spokes on a bicycle wheel. I usually start about 8 inches out from the crown and you'll most likely chop up some roots, but not to worry as there are plenty of roots that you didn't hit. Again, very hard to screw up. Hop On.

Any lateral roots I find need to be removed to keep from getting sprouts coming up away from my crowns, correct? I don't want them to take over my back yard..HA