My Lupulin Threshold Shift / Questions about dry hopping

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maierhof

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Ok - so I have been brewing now for over three years and have been up here since apr 2013 reading... a quick shout out to all of you that have helped me along the way! Without this site - I have no idea where I would be...

I have all of the equipment necessary for brewing almost anything I want to at an 11gal rate. I have done almost all the DIY hacks to keep this obsession cost effective... now what?

Ok - I have finally done my first dry hop. :D
Yes yes yes - it took a while but hey - for a long time I just didn't like any high IBU beers. It looks like that is changing aka my My Lupulin Threshold Shift. I saw this when I went up to Russian River Brewing for this years release of Pliny the Younger and laughed when I saw it.

Since that release I have done a lot of reading on this subject and have secured my SureScreens. I just put in 1 oz of Centennial and 1 oz of Cascade into an APA/WLP001 in two different five gal cornies and am starting this test today. I am ready for the dry hop experience but I have a few questions for those that have been doing this a while.

I have heard that dry hop time and temp is just a few days at ale fermentation temps but the "shine" of the hoppiness fades more rapidly.
AND
I have heard that dry hop time at lower temps for longer is better to keep that hoppy "shine" going longer.

I want to hear how long and
I want to hear at what temp do you do it?

Come on - tell me about what you do?!

My advice is that you should find a process and stick with it. For more hop flavor, add more hops.