My Kal (in-a-toolbox) clone

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChocolateMaltyBalls

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I’ve been brewing all grain for a few years with a basic round cooler MLT and turkey fryer setup. By last summer I was starting to get bored with my setup and occasionally frustrated trying to hit the right temps. So I started lurking in the electric forum and spending way too much time at TheElectricBrewery.com.

Initially, I was planning on a hybrid system with a simple electric HLT and pretty much use the same process as before. However the more I look into it the more sense it made to just go all electric. For 5 gallon batches a 240V 5500W element seemed the way to go, and if I’m going to put in a dedicated 240V 30A outlet I might as well drop propane all together. By the end of the slippery slope I reached the E-HERMS Kal Clone.

It took me about four months to figure out the kind of process I wanted, to research HERMS thoroughly, and to finally start pricing and buying components (only took a month to build). IMO this is not something to build partway if you know where you want to go. This type of system is time consuming and expensive to build, I know I only wanted to do it once. I need a setup that I could break down since my brew area is outdoors (under my car port) so I went the tool box route for my control panel and pump/ plate chiller housing. I got a lot of inspiration from this forum especially from OrangeHero and Boerderij_Kabouter

Here are three key points I learned:
1) Figure out your process first, don’t buy a single thing until you have considered every detail of how you want to brew
2) Use whatever wiring scheme you want, but GFCI protection is absolute