My first all grain! Quite a story...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NuclearRich

Reaction score
:mug:

Well, I am a relative newbie, started doing extract batches with some specialty grains at my start in July'09. Just last week I ventured forth into uncharted territory (for me): the full mash all grain super mega awesome brew day!

Got a 45ish quart cooler with a SS braid and read up a bit (mostly here, you guys are great) prior to my adventure. After a week straight of staying up too late with my studies, I finally felt confident.
Long Peaks Raspberry Wheat, here I come!

One thing I forgot in all of my excitement was that I broke my floating thermometer last brewday, and never got another one.... whoops... hope that trusty meat thermometer will work! It did, actually, it isnt easy to read exact temps, but I mashed in 170*F-ish strike with a preheated MLT, mixed 'er up a bit, and voila: 152*F-ish. Checked temp 30mins later: maybe a degree of loss! Awesome! Starch test at 60mins is negative for starch! Awesome!
I decided to keep it pretty simple this time around and batch sparge. Drained 1.5gals of first runnings... gotta add 5 more... lets do 3gals then 2gals. 3gals 180*F for a decent mashout, blah blah, drained all my second and third runnings. Preboil gravity was 13 points off. I figured I would be off on my first day, so I had some extra light DME in case of emergency. Threw a lb in.
Lets get to the boil!
INCREDIBLE hot break! I've never been so close to overflowing my keggle! And when the hops join, oh MAN was it impressive. hmmm... sure seems like I have a high volume... whatev... lets keep brewing, its just paranoia.