Moving to all grain...MLT size question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Veronis

Reaction score
Hey all,

I have a polar ware 15 gallon brew kettle (601BP), purchased with future brewing in mind. I'm still doing 5 gallon extract kits in it at the moment because I'm still learning.

When I move to all-grain, I plan to make some 5-gallon and some 10-gallon AG batches.

Will I need a 15 gallon mash/lauter tun for a 10-gallon AG batch, or is a 10 gallon sufficient?

I'm a huge fan of big beers, so I will be making a lot of ~11-12% ABV imperial stouts, wee heavy, etc. I would need a 15 gallon MLT to make 10 gallons of ~1.100 OG wort, right?

Hey all,

I have a polar ware 15 gallon brew kettle (601BP), purchased with future brewing in mind. I'm still doing 5 gallon extract kits in it at the moment because I'm still learning.

When I move to all-grain, I plan to make some 5-gallon and some 10-gallon AG batches.

Will I need a 15 gallon mash/lauter tun for a 10-gallon AG batch, or is a 10 gallon sufficient?

I'm a huge fan of big beers, so I will be making a lot of ~11-12% ABV imperial stouts, wee heavy, etc. I would need a 15 gallon MLT to make 10 gallons of ~1.100 OG wort, right?

I'm a 10 gallon brewer, and I use a 10 gallon MLT. No problem for me so far. Not sure on the high ABV beers though. I think I have enough room to do it but never tried as of yet.

Don't forget the HLT. I think 10 gal. would work, but mine is 13 gallons.

Happy brewing.

pb

You lost me at HLT :/ Did I miss some reading somewhere? I don't even know what that is. I thought I could get a converted igloo and use it as a MLT, and drain that into my 15 gallon brew kettle.

Is this a third item I need?