Moving beyond amateur status

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fishin-Jay

Reaction score
I've been brewing now for about 5 years. I made about 1/2 dozen extract brews before moving into all grain brewing, and I feel I've got my processes and equipment pretty well dialed in. Still, I consider myself a rank amateur because all I know how to do is follow recipes.

I'd like to begin tweaking recipes, and ultimately designing my own recipes, but I want to make educated decisions rather than simply guessing with my substitutions and ingredient choices.

Can anybody recommend a book or two that I should read? More than anything I'd like to better understand ingredients. For example, I'd love to find something that listed the various malts, hops, and adjuncts and gave a description of what they contribute to the final product in terms of flavor, color, head retention, clarity, etc.

In addition to homebrew I love to cook and when I create a recipe, or look at someone else's recipe, I'm skilled at being able to look at each individual ingredient and know how those spices, meats and vegetables will blend and influence the final meal. I can almost always predict the quality of a meal just by reading the recipe. I'd love to reach that same level of skill in brewing, but I need a stronger education in brewing ingredients.

Last edited by a moderator: