Move to secondary. Too early?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skeaterbait

Reaction score
No matter how much you swear you will leave it be, on your first batch I guess many just can't. That would be me.

I brewed last Wednesday and watched the airlock pretty carefully. After at least two and probably three days of not activity I decided to split the difference in the directions that came withe the kit and all the advice I got on here.

Popped the lid and checked the gravity which came in at 1.006. This is about .005 under the target which gives an ABV fo 4.7%. The instructions said it should be 4.25-4.5%. As a noob I figured that wasn't too bad and racked to the secondary for aging.

Is there any reason I should have waited longer?

Some will say that by leaving the beer on the yeast cake will give them time to clean up there mess of flavors and esters. Some will ask, "Why are you using a secondary?" You really want to make sure that fermentation is complete before you bottle for obvious reasons. Consecutive stable hygrometer readings are a good indicator of this. You should be fine!

Hmmm, I said under, perhaps I meant over? Target was 1.010, OG was 1.042.

Airlock activity is not indicative of what is actually happening. Consecutive stable gravity readings are...like over a 2 or 3 days. Since you are in secondary, which isn't really necessary if you leave it in primary longer, you should be fine. Be sure your readings are stable prior to bottling or you may run into gushers and bottle bombs.

I think your beer will be ok. If target gravity was 1.010 and your hydrometer reading was 1.006 then you could assume fermentation was complete at transfer.