Mini Fridge / Chest Freezer gasket problem

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

naptowndon

Reaction score
I am new to brewing and this forum but have found some great information and ideas. When I read of Kegging I knew I had to try it and when I saw the Keezers I knew that was next. On this site I found the coffin keezer and that is now the goal. I found a deal on a Kenmore chest freezer about 1 year old on Craigslist that actually came with a large mini-fridge that was older, both for $60. GE TA7SJ is a large brown mini-fridge that I figured I could put a tower in or just picnic lines and use it for lager. However it has a problem the gasket/seal around the door is torn in the corner. The seal up against is ok but the "folds" are where it's torn. I looked for replacement gaskets but the item is discontinued and NLA. Suggestions? Is there any adhesive or filler I can put in the gasket?

fi348.jpg

Hi

If the gasket was available as a new part from the manufacturer, it likely would run $75 to $150. Put another way, even if you could get it you wouldn't do it...

The gasket material is probably vinyl. You may be able to find cement for repairing auto seat covers that will work well enough to patch the gasket.

Bob

Thanks for the info. Because of the size and how cheap I got it figure I can give it a shot but also knew for the money it may be better to scrap it then put money into it. I'll try the vinyl sealer and see how it work. Thanks again.

Thanks for the info. Because of the size and how cheap I got it figure I can give it a shot but also knew for the money it may be better to scrap it then put money into it. I'll try the vinyl sealer and see how it work. Thanks again.

Hi