Mashing in a new member!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pbrandt

Warped Barrel Brewing
Reaction score
Figured I would jump in here and give a quick background on myself and how I got started brewing. I have been lurking for about a year and figured it may be time to give back.

Name: Phil
Nebraska
Married
2 Kids (one on the way)
Golf
Hunting/Fishing
Smoking Food
Most importantly Brewing Beer!

I started brewing a little over a year ago. I was talking with my cousin about a new microbrewery that opened up and how cool that would be to do down the road. He told me about a buddy of his that has been brewing for about 10 years and gave me his number. I got to tour his basement brewery and pick his brain for about 3 hours. After we talked I decided I wanted to go straight into All Grain Brewing and would keg instead of bottle.

My first two beers I made were 3 Gal batches via BIAB in an old 7 gallon turkey frying pot. Yeah there were a few bad words said on my first brew day! Especially when I spilled the yeast I had hydrated all over the floor! Called the owner of Thunderhead Brewery and he said he could meet me in an hour and saved the day!

33492790210_9b6cf6d54f_c.jpg

I was hooked after my first two brew sessions. I then proceeded to upgrade to a 3 tier system. Purchased from another brewer 2 Coolers, brew kettle, and Blichmann Burner. I have brewed around 20 all grain batches (I know not that many compared to a lot of you). Only one of which was not drinkable :(

33492785750_3f17f718e4_c.jpg

All of my beers were made from various all grain kits from Northern Brewer and other companies. I just now started buying grains in bulk to save on cost (closest homebrew supply store is 2.5 hours away). I want to start making my own recipes.