Mash tun trouble

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nbates1982

Reaction score
Hi this is my first post, ive been brewing for about 5 years have about 5 all grain brews in. The last two i have had some problems with my mash tun. I use an igloo ten gallon cooler with false bottom, my problem is ive had the fittings fall out of place connected to ball valve and false bottom, causing a stuck sparge. Im thinking about switching to a bazooka screen. Any ideas would be great. Below is a pic of my false bottom to help out

ForumRunner_20130326_074905.png

Is it tightened all the way, do you have an o-ring on the dip tube holding the screen down? Those should be locked in if everything is cranked down before you start.

You also want to make sure everything is tight so you don't lose siphon.

I have a s/s nut holding down the false bottom. I also have compression fittings in each point where the tube is inserted leading to ball valve and false bottom. Thanks for the reply.

I know lots of people swear by false bottoms, but my experience with them left a lot to be desired. Constantly got grain or husks under them, constantly had to disassemble and reassemble.

I got a bazooka screen from my LHBS a few years ago and never looked back. Set it and forget it, never had any problems with just rinsing it clean. Never had to disassemble it yet. :rockin:

-Rich

I've had the same Stuck Sparge issues with my false bottom igloo. I simply line it with a large brew bag. No more problems.

Are you ending up with a ton of grain underneath the fb? I feel like a ton of stuck sparges with false bottoms come from creating a vacuum when you open the ball valve (even when you open it slowly)