Maris Otter Haze

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

motobrewer

I'm no atheist scientist, but...
Reaction score
I can't seem to shake it. I'm using Warminster Floor-Malted Maris Otter. I love the stuff but can't get clear beer with it.

I've tried 25min protein rests in the 127F range. I use kettle finings but no post-fermentation finings. I'd like to try to get some clear beer without it.

View attachment Analysis M Otter.pdf

Yeast and break material will clear with time in the fridge. Suspended starches will not. Do you check for starch conversion during the mash?

It's been a while since I last used MO, but I don't recall having any clarity issues.

Hi motobrewer. I use warminster MO almost excusively (i live quite close to there, so its abundant. I don't have any clarity issues, so i'm quite sceptical of the notion of "maris otter haze". Are you sure its an issue with the maris otter?

Hi motobrewer. I use warminster MO almost excusively (i live quite close to there, so its abundant. I don't have any clarity issues, so i'm quite sceptical of the notion of "maris otter haze". Are you sure its an issue with the maris otter?

what's your mash procedure?

I stock MO, Pils, and american 2-row at home. I only seem to have clarity issues with MO.

I've never had clarity issues with MO, though I have used mostly Crisp's offerings. With the very well modified malts they are producing today, you probably do not need a protein rest, and that may in fact be hurting you by breaking down the proteins to much smaller molecules that they will not flocculate and settle out.