Many Mini Batches for Hop/Malt/Yeast Comparison.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

htc

Reaction score
Before the "newb flaming" begins, I'd like to start by confessing that I am new to homebrewing.

Thusly, I would like to experiment with several small batches in a controlled manner to evaluate separate ingredients. I feel that comparing each individual ingredient's characteristic would allow me to establish a baseline or understanding of what each has to offer. Also, this system could lend itself to recipe variation with maximum variation and minimal loss.

Example/Variable:

Yeast - A 5 gallon batch split 5 equal ways and inoculated with 5 separate yeasts.

Malt - A 3 liter (shrunken) batch of beer calls for 20oz of Pale Ale Malt, and 5oz of specialty malt. Individual batches with varying specialty grains will be brewed with the same hopping schedule and fermented by the same yeast at a consistent temperature. (Downside is that the flavor contribution per weight varies between malts. e.g. 5 oz Caramel 40 vs. 5 oz Black Patent)

Hops - The hopping schedule for a particular recipe will be customized to allow hop additions at or around the same interval/proportion to maintain a consistent IBU.

Boil Time/Melanoidin Development - One wort split equally and boiled for various lengths and exposed to identical hopping schedules and yeast strain.

Post Boil Additions - Primary vs. Secondary vs. Bottling/Kegging vs. Hopback style

Obviously the majority of the work will come with the smaller individual brews as in the malt portion of the experiment. For this reason, I am tempted to consider alterations to my brewing process for the sake of simplicity.

Process: (very, stupidly rough)