Liquid yeast shelf life

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

daphatgrant

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I'm still relatively new to home brewing with about 20 batches under my belt but I've started to notice a consistent "issue" with my beers. I keep getting an odd lightly sweet aftertaste in my beers, especially noticable in IPAs and other light ales. I've tried lowering my fermentation temps and am still getting it, 62F for the last IPA I made. I've been using US-05 pretty much exclusively and want to try something else out to rule out the yeast. I'm thinking about trying either WY1056 or WLP001. I'm wondering how long on average you can keep a yeast pack in the fridge? I know it'll depend on how old it is when you get it but I'm assuming a couple months is good? I've got US-05 that's good till next year but I know that dry yeast is a different animal. Thanks for any input, I got discouraged on the last batch but want to get back into it.

TLDR:
Going to try different yeast to rule out flavor "issue"
On average how long do you keep liquid yeast in your fridge?

Last edited:
There is really no average for how long liquid yeast is "good." Best By dates are practically useless. It's all about how many viable cells are in the package and how many cells you need/want for a particular beer.

Some things that influence how many viable cells are in the package:
- starting cell count
- age of the pack
- how the pack was handled and stored

Some things that influence how many viable cells you need:
- Batch Size
- Original Gravity
- Beer Type (e.g. lager vs ale)
- Brewer's goals/preferences for the beer

Yeast Calculators are really, really helpful with most of the above.