Let me know what I've done?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jonny24

Reaction score
Hey everyone! Total newbie here, I've brewed just one extract brew so far thats actually not bad, a little bitter. I have everything for my next brew on Sunday. I came home tonight and got my pot out, and inside was a spare bag of Pilsen light DME and a package of yeast.

So, I threw together a 1 gallon batch with the Pilsen, .3 oz of Cascade pellets and half a pack of US-05 yeast. Its sitting in a 5 gallon bucket right now, hopefully fermenting away.

Does this seem like it should turn into anything good? In my head it seems like a simple, light ale that isn't especially hoppy. Or at least something drinkable.

I will admit, I may have had a few of my first batch :tank:

Sounds like it'll be good. The only thing I'd sorry about is the enormous headspace in that 5 gallon bucket. You basically have 4/5 of the bucket empty which is begging for an infection. You should be fine if you do the exact opposite of what every newbie (and even experienced brewers) wants to do... You need to keep that lod closed. If you do that you should be good. But it should taste good! Welcome to the hobby!

Sounds like it'll be good. The only thing I'd sorry about is the enormous headspace in that 5 gallon bucket. You basically have 4/5 of the bucket empty which is begging for an infection. You should be fine if you do the exact opposite of what every newbie (and even experienced brewers) wants to do... You need to keep that lod closed. If you do that you should be good. But it should taste good! Welcome to the hobby!