Kegging System Sanitation Q's

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheKeg81

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm new to kegging and have a couple of questions and concerns about it all. I've searched some of my questions already and found my answers, but some remain. I recently acquired a keezer and was wondering if I would be okay to use the current lot of tubing/lines (cleaned and sanitzed of course) or should I just go ahead and replace them?

It was stored out of the weather, but still subject to moisture and humidity. The lines appear to be in good condition, but are a little sticky on the outside. I'm going to see if I can't clean that off. Also, most of the liquid lines were filled with beer/keg line cleaner and were under a slight pressure. The high pressure gas lines appear to be in good condition as well. I would think that I would be okay using these as they've only had gas in them and would be far less likely to have isses with them.

If I were to replace them all, would the hoses at Home Depot or Lowe's be good enough or do I need to find some food equipment supply house to get special beverage hoses? The reason I ask is because several of the hoses are marked as "bevflex" or something similar. I don't recall seeing that on some of the keezer/kegerator builds I've seen here.

Thanks in advance for any words of wisdom or advice you can spare. :mug:

I would switch out the beer lines just to rest my mind. Yes Home Depot has lines just make sure they are food grade.