Is Chinook good for hop bursting?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jonas217

Reaction score
I just discovered the identity of the hops growing in my yard. They are Chinook and I will end up with a very large amount of them. I have never used Chinook before. Are they good for hops bursting in a single hop IPA?

Here is a recipe I came up with. Will it work?

Chinook Hops Burst IPA

11 lbs Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) 95.7 %
8.0 oz Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L (40.0 SRM)

0.25 oz Chinook 13.00 % Boil 60.0 min 9.4 IBUs
1 oz Chinook 13.00 % Boil 10.0 min 13.7 IBUs
1 oz Chinook 13.00 % Boil 5.0 min 7.5 IBUs
2.5 oz Chinook 13.00 % whirlpool at 185 degrees for 20 min 28.6 IBUs
2 oz Chinook 13.00 % Dry Hop for 10 days

Mash at 149 for 90 minutes
Ferment with US05 at 65 degrees
OG 1.057
FG 1.014
ABV 5.6 %
IBUs 59.2

Edit this is a 5 gallon batch

Heck yes! Brew it. I love Chinook. Jealous! Still hoping my first year Chinook gives me anything.

I did a huge Black IIPA (prefer to call it a double American Dark Ale, anyhow) with fresh hopped Chinook bittering, late hop, flameout, dry hop.

Actually, I am drinking one right now.

Let's say I definitely recognize and appreciate Chinook now.

It is a great way to learn a hop, but I think Chinook is a best early - mid hop, with more citrusy hops to balance out the piney, spicy Chinook.

If you're planning on using them fresh, aren't you supposed to use a much larger amount of hops? I thought I read 5x or something. Haven't gotten to try it yet myself. Agreed on the citrus with Chinook. Citra is awesome with it, or Galaxy. I still think a SMaSH would be awesome and informative, though.