Irish Red recipe help?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DonMagee

Reaction score
I've decided I'm going to do a Irish red after some begging from my friends. The only problem is, I've never made a red before and I'm also fairly new to recipe creation. So I'm looking for some feedback on this recipe. I'm hoping for a medium to deep red color and just slightly dry.

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Boil Size: 7.04 gal
Batch Size (fermenter): 5.50 gal
Bottling Volume: 5.10 gal
Estimated OG: 1.049 SG
Estimated Color: 13.3 SRM
Estimated IBU: 19.3 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 72.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 81.8 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
9 lbs Pale Malt, Maris Otter (3.0 SRM)
8.0 oz Caramel/Crystal Malt - 60L (60.0 SRM)
4.0 oz Caramel/Crystal Malt - 80L (80.0 SRM)
4.0 oz Roasted Barley (300.0 SRM)
1.00 oz Goldings, East Kent [5.00 %] - Boil 60.0
0.25 oz Goldings, East Kent [5.00 %] - Boil 20.0
London Ale (White Labs #WLP013)

Mash Schedule: Single Infusion, Medium Body, Batch Sparge
Total Grain Weight: 10 lbs
----------------------------
Name Description Step Temperat Step Time
Mash In Add 13.50 qt of water at 161.7 F 151.0 F 60 min

Sparge: Batch sparge with 2 steps (1.47gal, 3.65gal) of 168.0 F water

Thank you in advance!

I would reduce the crystal 60 to 4 oz and add 4 oz of CaraRed. You want the final product to be on the dry side. And you may want to consider using an Irish Ale yeast like wyeast 1084 which will give you the dryness, fruit and esters you're looking for. I like hops so I would also add another addition of 1/4 oz goldings at 10 min, but that is optional.