IPA Modification

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maynardtl8

Reaction score
Hi everyone! New to the forums but ive been brewing for a couple years now. Ive been looking for some opinions on how to modify my favorite IPA kit i got from midwest supplies. Its the Octane IPA extract kit if youre curious. I want to turn it into an Imperial IPA with a little more hop character. Heres the break down of it:

6 lbs Gold LME
3.3 lbs Amber LME
8 oz Caramel 40*L specialty
2 oz Cascade hops
1 oz Willamette hops
1 oz Golding hops
Wyeast British Ale #1098
and a couple ozs of oak chips in the secondary.
2 weeks in primary, 2 weeks in secondary.
SG: 1.082

I only got about 6.5% ABV in this batch but i want more. I think the SG seems high enough so i might not add anymore extract except for maybe a pound or so of DME. And ill either add one more oz of cascade or willamette to the boil for some more hop flavor. Should I just give it more time in the primary/secondary and give it swirl every once in a while? Or should i add more yeast when i rack over to the secondary? Any help will be much appreciated.

With an O.G. of 1.082, to finish at 6.5% ABV would mean your F.G. was in the neighborhood of 1.030, which is extremely high. All the fermentables are from LME, so efficiency can't be a factor. Can you elaborate on why you ended up with only a 6.5% beer with such a high starting gravity? Surely the beer is cloyingly sweet, no?

No way you're getting an SG of 1.082 with those malt additions. Maybe 1.065 which would put you around your 6.5% abv.