Incoming bottle bombs?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Leapsandbounds

Reaction score
So, I brewed a grapefruit juice pale ale 3 weeks ago. I pitched US-05 (dry) into 2.5 gallons of wort at about 75f (higher than normal but I was out of time). OG was around 1.050. The beer fermented between 70-72. Also, the juice was preservative free.

Yesterday I bottled it but I didn’t have enough for a hydrometer FG (I usually assume that 3 weeks is enough for complete fermentation and take readings at the end).

I work in a lab so I brought a sample in and used a refractometer and it was 1.023! However, this reading does include priming sugar which was 2.5 oz (I wanted high carb). I suppose I need to remember to take FG before adding corn sugar next time.

So, did I just blow up a case of beer? I’m at work but as soon as I get home the beer is going on a storage container.

Check up on reading gravity after fermentation with a refractometer. The reading needs to be corrected for the presence of alcohol.

It would appear that I can’t use my work refractometer as it only measures specific gravity and not Brix. I’ll just have to store the beer in a safe location and hope for the best.

Thanks for your help.

I plugged 1.023 into Brewer's Friend's SG to Brix converter and came up with 5.8 Brix. I then put that into the refractometer calculator and it came back with a gravity of 1.008 as a final gravity. You're probably safe.

Edit: I left the OG at the default 1.048 in the refractometer calculator, the correct FG should be about 1.007.

I always do 2 gallon batches w/about 1.75 at bottling. Why did you not have enough for a hydrometer reading? I always take one and pour the sample into the bottling bucket. Never had a problem doing that.