...I think I ruined this...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aweaselkid

Reaction score
So I went ahead to brew this receipe about a month ago:
https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f70/hopped-blood-orange-hefeweizen-314673/

The Hopped Orange Hefe would be a great way to get my gf excited about my brewing hobbies, so I hoped this would turn out good.

I have been brewing for 3+ years, switched pretty quickly to kegging, and have done mostly extract batches. In general, I have very detail oriented, and can swear my sanitation is on-par (if anything too OCD about it). But it looks like I may have slipped up?

This was bottled about a week ago, and has been in my 65-70degree room carbing. I boiled my priming sugar mixture, and transfered to bottling bucket, filled 12 22ox bottles, and put the rest in a 5gal keg. I just lifted the release valve for a second on the keg, and pleeenty of CO2 is happening in there, so that is good, but man, these alien like globs of who-knows-what has really damppered my spirits.

Certainly this is bacteria? Not some random coagulation of yeast? Inintally, sediment settled to to bottom of these bottles pretty quick, but I couldn't help but notice this, whatever it is, is taking over?

Am I ruined?

photo.jpg

sorry.. is this a half filled bottle or is that mass of something just suspended in there?

no, the bottle is capped, I planned on having it carb for another few weeks, but not sure what is going on.

No way its some assembly of yeast, just hanging out, floating around, right?

I've never seen anything like that in beer. And see how clear that "beer" is! The haze is gone too.

Do they all look like that? Or is it just one bottle that had a double bottom left over from the previous round.