How to sanitize a Stone

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CaptMogul

Reaction score
I have a S/S Stone that I have been using for over 12 years. Attached to it is a 5' tubing that I slip on to a medical o2 tank. After use I wash in PBW and before use I soak in Iodine solution. Every once in a while, when I think about it, I will boil it . I have not had an infection but............................ What are you doing that I might change my habits?
Ed B

I have a S/S Stone that I have been using for over 12 years. Attached to it is a 5' tubing that I slip on to a medical o2 tank. After use I wash in PBW and before use I soak in Iodine solution. Every once in a while, when I think about it, I will boil it . I have not had an infection but............................ What are you doing that I might change my habits?
Ed B
Boiling it is really all you need to do. I would just worry about that personally

I've always boiled mine for 10-15 mins while whirlpooling.

Baking I don't know the process, but I know that people do it. I presume 450F would do it but I don't know for how long.

The temps involved will kill almost all non-spore microbes basically instantly (and if you bake long enough high enough even those). But you need to make sure that the heat has time to penetrate all the way through (much like cooking poultry). As water conducts heat better than air, I'd sooner go with boiling it personally.

One major positive of baking or pressure cooking (autoclaving) is that you can wrap it in foil so it'll essentially be sterile until you need it
Baking is not quite a positive over boiling. Pressure cooking is only better than boiling because you can go higher that 212 but all 3 will work.