How to get that green apple tartness?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hehawbrew

Reaction score
I'm still a newb for the most part when it comes to cider..... I have one cider recipe I really like, but I lacks an element that I would like to include.

How do you get a "granny smith bite" to it?

In May I made a three gallon batch that I dropped a few GS apple in to, but, haven't tried it yet. Not sure if it will do the trick....

You could juice some granny smith apples & add that to the must. You could add malic acid. You could do both.
Regards, GF.

or, backsweeten your cider with Frozen Green-Apple Juice Concentrate ... I think I've seen that at the supermarket.

Well, I bottled two, three gallon batches today. Same recipe, but one had chopped up Granny Smith, the other did not. The chopped GS gave it that tartness I was looking for!

hehawbrew said:
I'm still a newb for the most part when it comes to cider..... I have one cider recipe I really like, but I lacks an element that I would like to include.

How do you get a "granny smith bite" to it?

In May I made a three gallon batch that I dropped a few GS apple in to, but, haven't tried it yet. Not sure if it will do the trick....

I use malic acid it's exactly what you need anit its derived from apples its actually originally derived from apples and also has other health benifits as a pIus. I use it in every cider batch i do. Good luck!

hehawbrew said:
I'm assuming I can get malic acid at my lhbs?