How should Cab Sauv taste after 5 days in a primary fermenter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Markchouinard

Reaction score
Hi all,
I am new to wine making and have a few questions:

I am getting ready to rack a batch of Cab Sauv from the primary to the carboy after 5 days. It appears that fermentation is complete, and I am getting SG of 0.992.

When I taste the wine though, it tastes "off" from what I am expecting. I'd say it's a little bit vinegary but I don't know if that's possible after only 5 days in the primary fermenter? I also don't know if it's supposed to taste like that in the beginning stages. Maybe it is just really dry and young...?

It was air tight with an air lock the whole time and I sanitized all the gear prior to use. If anyone has any input/ advice it'd be greatly appreciated.

-Mark

LOL.. thanks for the advice. I don't think it's that kind of wine though...

It's a kit, takes 4 weeks to bottle, and suggested to sit in bottle for another month for a total of 8 weeks before it's ready. And it says the shelf life is about a year once ready.

I am just concerned that it might be turning to vinegar, but don't know if that's a fact or me just being paranoid.
That's where I am coming from with the question.
Any thoughts as to the vinegar vs. paranoid issue are welcome :)

Since the wine is so young, and just ready for secondary, it still has tons of c02 in suspension as well as yeast. The c02 has an acidic "bite" to it, and that may be what you are tasting. The yeast in suspension has more of a yeasty taste, but it has a bite as well.

Once you see all the stuff that falls out in secondary, and have successfully degassed the wine, the sample after that will be more like the finished product.